St Mary's C of E

Primary School


The Governing Board is a group of volunteers who work collectively, as a corporate body, forming part of the school leadership.  The Governing Board operates at a strategic level, ensuring high standards of achievement for all children and young people in the school by:

• Setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction

• Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils

• Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

As a Voluntary Aided (VA) school, we are the employer of staff, the admission authority and have responsibility for any new building or external repairs (funded by a grant from the DfE of up to 90%).

Our Governing Board is made up of representatives of all those groups who have an interest, or stake, in the effective delivery of education and care of the pupils in our school.  These groups are represented by the different categories of governors.  As a VA school, the majority of our governors have to be foundation (Church/Diocese) governors.

If you are interested in becoming a governor, please contact the school office.

You can contact the Governing Board by writing to them care of the school.

Current Governing Board

Local Authority Governor:

Owen Lewis (Chair of Governors)

Parent Governors:

David Lee, Emily Turnbull

Co-opted Governor:

Jonathan Clarke

Foundation Governors:

Jonathan Gordon, Louisa Osmond, Linda Slim, Helen Thrussell, David White, Gareth Taljaard , Emma Wilson

Associate Governor:

Jo Bates

Staff Governors:

Lynne Osborne (Head Teacher), Sarah Gray (Deputy Head Teacher)


Tracey Middleton